Monday, February 27, 2017

Alex Haskel wins ninth Structure Prix

The ninth Structure Prix was awarded to Alex Haskel in February 2017. 

drawing by Alex Haskel
Instructor Colleen Barry offered the following critique:

"What I love about this drawing is how it commands the space within the page. It has a sense of perspective that the judges found to be very commanding. There is a strong psychological presence in the drawing even though we can only see just the sliver of the model's face. There exists strong interlocking structural parts i.e. the ribcage, pelvis, the greater trochanter of the femur into the pelvic girdle. The arm is rooted down on the thigh. Alex has successfully portrayed the sense of the parts interconnecting with one another by employing a dynamic contour on the right side of the torso with each intersecting tilt having its reciprocal event on the other side. I like the unrefined feeling to the modeling. I try to remind students that many older drawings from the 19th century are not as smooth and polished as they may look in small reproductions online and in books. Although these figure drawings are academic exercises don't forget that what makes a drawing stand out is its artfulness and how much the drawing speaks to the viewer. Sometimes over refinement can cause a drawing to lose its strength. Go bold or go home."

A winning drawing should have:
  1. Naturalistic proportion and gesture.
  2. A clear and graphic display of the light and shadow pattern on the figure.
  3. A bold and confident use of value to allow for visual clarity when viewed from a distance.
  4. An efficient and descriptive use of hatching and/or graining when describing the structural components of the half tones. A sensitive use of line to describe important overlaps or ascents.
  5. A convincing description of the core structural elements of the figure such as the relationship of the rib cage and pelvis, the head and neck on the shoulders and the relationship of the legs as they support the weight of the standing figure.
  6. An overall sense of artistic integrity and aesthetic.
This is the ninth time the Structure Prix has been awarded in the spirit of inspiring healthy competition among peers as inspired by weekly cash prizes at the Academy Julien in Paris during the 19th Century.

Kevin Müller Cisneros and Dale Zinkowski won the eighth prize in December 2016.
Kevin Müller Cisneros won the seventh prize in October 2016.
Jessica Artman and Savannah Tate Cuff won the sixth prize in May 2016.
Jon Brogie and Kevin Müller Cisneros won the fifth prize in April 2016.
Sandra Sanchez won the fourth prize in March 2016.
Katie Engberg won the third prize in February 2016.
Raina Dai won the second prize in November 2015.
Kevin Müller Cisneros won the first prize in October 2015. 

No comments: