Monday, February 27, 2017

Kevin Müller Cisneros & Dale Zinkowski win Eighth Structure Prix

The eighth Structure Prix was awarded as a tie to both Kevin Müller Cisneros and Dale Zinkowski at the end of December 2016. Instructor Colleen Barry offered the following critique:

"Both of these drawings have a very bold presence and both successfully captured the models gesture and proportion. Kevin made his drawing from the floor and convinces the viewer of that particular perspective. Dale made his drawing from an easel and did a very fine job modeling his torso. Both artists employed abbreviated modeling and good value choices. Over all these two drawings have excellent form and compression of values in the light areas. Good graphite shapes as well. Congrats guys."

drawing by Kevin Müller Cisneros

drawing by Dale Zinkowski

A winning drawing should have:
1. Naturalistic proportion and gesture.
2. A clear and graphic display of the light and shadow pattern on the figure.
3. A bold and confident use of value to allow for visual clarity when viewed from a distance.
4. An efficient and descriptive use of hatching and/or graining when describing the structural components of the half tones. A sensitive use of line to describe important overlaps or ascents.
5. A convincing description of the core structural elements of the figure such as the relationship of the rib cage and pelvis, the head and neck on the shoulders and the relationship of the legs as they support the weight of the standing figure.
6. An overall sense of artistic integrity and aesthetic.

This is the eighth time the Structure Prix has been awarded in the spirit of inspiring healthy competition among peers as inspired by weekly cash prizes at the Academy Julien in Paris during the 19th Century.

Kevin Müller Cisneros won the seventh prize in October 2016.
Jessica Artman and Savannah Tate Cuff won the sixth prize in May 2016.
Jon Brogie and Kevin Müller Cisneros won the fifth prize in April 2016.
Sandra Sanchez won the fourth prize in March 2016.
Katie Engberg won the third prize in February 2016.
Raina Dai won the second prize in November 2015.
Kevin Müller Cisneros won the first prize in October 2015. 

No comments: